Ang Aming Angkan


Macario Lucban Veluz
01.05.2006, 21:01
Filed under: Veluz

Macario Lucban Veluz of Luisiana, Laguna, Philippines is the earliest known patriarch of the Veluz Clan.

Having fled his home town with his two brothers in the late 1800’s as an outlaw from the oppressive Spanish government, he and his siblings was said to have adopted this new surname which was befitting their new life (previous last name unknown). It is said that the brothers parted ways and settled in different towns in Camarines Sur and Camarines Norte. As his trade, he sold cows between Camarines Sur and Quezon. Eventually, he settled in a small coastal town Danawin in Quilbay, Camarines Sur — part of which is now known as a town of Del Gallego.  He married Cipriana Collantes with whom he had several children: Simeon, Jacinto, Francisca, Cresenciano, Maria, Alejandro, Juana and Dolores.

Family History Research Notes

1. Macario Veluz’ Family Tree can be found on Geni.com.

30 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m a Veluz too from manila. My grandmother told me that we have relatives in quezon but we don’t know them and we don’t have contact with them

Comment by joal veluz

Hello Mona, congratulations! you have a very interesting site. My father was from Lucban Quezon, and my mother told me also that the otehr relatives are from Batangas, Alitagtag and Taal. Are we related or… It is very intriguing to know that the family veluz does exist…and still exist? My grandfather’s name is Fernando Cuya Veluz

Comment by Loreta Yu Veluz-Dalisay

hi loreta. i don’t have FERNANDO CUYA VELUZ on the database yet. in the meantime, it would be great if you can enter your family data on http://www.geni.com, so you can collaborate with me and others on-line. once my research expands to include your ancestors, the system will advise us both. ok, di ba?

Comment by Mona

Hello Mona, Congratulations for posting Veluz clan. Originally I am from Luisiana Laguna currently residing in Guam and my grandfather’s name was Santiago Veluz. Are we related?

Comment by Merly P. Soriano

hi, merly. i don’t have a SANTIAGO VELUZ in my database yet; but i get new information often. it would be great if you can enter your family data on http://www.geni.com, and you can collaborate with me and others on-line. or you could check back here again for updates. =)

Comment by Mona

Hello Mona, Thank you for posting the Veluz clan. I’m also doing my research: The Veluz Genealogy.My paternal grandparents resides at Lucban, Quezon. And I found out that my paternal grandfather father’s name is Felix E. Veluz. I heard from my paternal grandmother that we have relatives in Camarines Sur and Leyte. I don’t know if we are related?

Comment by Denise Anne S. Veluz

hi, denise. i don’t have a FELIX VELUZ on my database yet. will let you know if i find it in my research. it would be great if you can enter your family data on http://www.geni.com, so you can collaborate with me and others on-line as information becomes available.

Comment by Mona

I amm doing a research about our Veluz family through the help of my Mom and Dad, my cousins and other relatives. My maiden name was Merly Veluz Pedron. My parents were also residing in Guam since 1990. I will keep you posted. Thanks.

Comment by Merly P. Soriano

hi, merly. good luck on your genealogy study! i checked my database for PEDRON but could not find any on my list. send me your ancestor line and i might be able to help. =)

Comment by Mona

i feel blessed to discover this website. i thank you all for having the wisdom to try to gather the few ‘veluces’ which i suspect hve strong co-sanguinity.
as i had been told, any person with a veluz surname, most likely is related to this root. the next message is for the mayor. bayani, i visited your family when i was barely fifteen years old you were i think was either 6 0r seven years old. Tio Beriong and Tia Lucy invited me and my half siter( who was 8 years older than i as)we are the veluz from naga city. we enjoyed our stay. i went to medical school at the university of Alabama in birmingham. would like to correspond with you thru e-mail if possible. -rudy veluz

Comment by rodolfo monedera veluz, m.d. facep, diplomate of the ABIM

hi, rudy. thanks for visiting the site! bayani is my husband’s first cousin. i don’t think i have his email; but i will pass on your note to one of his kids.

Comment by Mona

p.s. the langka in del gallego is abundant. my fondest memory was walking thru the ‘gubat’ with a couple of surveyors ( this was in either ’62 or ’63, so i can’t remember their names). the ‘gubat’ was filled with the heady but pleasant scent of ripened and cracke langka. this will surely be one of my major stop, when i visit del gallego. bayani, your uncle Mr. Bienvenido Veluz was my history teacher at UNC. we are so many in school then, that i doubt that he would remember me. is del gallego still accesible by train from naga? thanks again.

Comment by rodolfo monedera veluz, m.d. facep, diplomate of the ABIM

hi again, rudy. bayani is my husband’s first cousin. i have only been there once, during the veluz reunion at pay beriong’s place, so i would not have your memories of the gubat.

pay benny, your ex-teacher, now lives in mandaluyong with his kids. he is very strong and healthy and travels to back del gallego often. “)

Comment by Mona

thank you mona for responding. tell bayani to send me his e-mail. mona, if you have the time, could you tell me how far is the coast from del gallego? what is the water like? also are those langka filled ‘gubats’ still in existence. regards to your family. if you send me your e-mail i’ll send you my family picture,and if you don’t mind you also could share yours. i might even send bayani the same. regards and GOD bless .

Comment by rudy veluz

hi again, rudy. ragay gulf is very close to del gallego. one of the inlets from the bay go through del gallego’s southern area.

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&msid=118405465903144390556.000472e923cad974e712c&ll=13.922404,122.598581&spn=0.023826,0.052142&t=h&z=15

the house we rented at back in 1995 was only accessible via water, so i distinctly remember taking a bangka on the river that leads to the gulf. sadly, the river was not very clean.

these days, cam sur is a popular destination for wake boarding. there is a big resort owned by the villafuerte’s tourists go to. i am particularly interested in visiting misibis bay (a boutique hotel) — i heard it’s a great place to stay.

Comment by Mona

my cell phone # is 205-566-1906, mona. please share this with bayani. thanks again.

Comment by rudy veluz

mona, thanks for the reply. i just came back from my 47th unc/hs reunion feb/16. had visited camsur the wakeboarding resort. my justice friend/hclassmate (of the court of appeals)and his family drove us (brother and i)there. i have not heard of misibis bay, is it in naga? i do remember ragay, there is a body of water seen as our bicol express train would have a stopover then, when i would commute from manila to naga. it looked impressive then to me. i know i am shooting to many q’s and request at you.thank you for your patience. i know mayor bayani is busy, but i hope he’ll connect with me one of these days and soon tanks and God Bless. -rudy

Comment by rudy veluz

hi rudy. misibis bay is in bacaycay, albay — a few minutes away from naga. =)

Comment by Mona

hi everyone,im from luisiana,laguna my grandfathers name is CASTOR VELUZ..im doing a research of VELUZ CLAN and i read the article about VELUZ CLAN..i need some help guys i need to gather some information about the VELUZ CLAN…thanks

Comment by arnold

thanks for the visit, arnold! unfortunately, i do not have a CASTOR VELUZ in my database. the earliest patriarch of the veluz clan that my husband’s family knows of is MACARIO VELUZ who was born in luisiana; but settled in del gallego. i will flag this name and give you a holler if i find anything. :)

Comment by Mona Magno-Veluz

hi,Mona! Thanx for creating this site, for Veluz clan, not only interesting but very informative. My grandfather’s name is Castor Veluz and his wife is Marcela Bala, both from Luisiana, Laguna.Their siblings are; namely…Crispina, Ruben, Anita, Purificacion, Pinoy, Lilia, Tessie, Myrna and Pastor. Oh, btw, my grandather’s parents, we call them, Amamang Bernabe and Inanang Duya. This info may help. And please keep me posted. Thanx again.

Comment by maritez alfante

thanks for the visit, maritez! how are you related to arnold? (see other commnets)

like i mentioned, earlier i do not have a CASTOR VELUZ in my database. the earliest patriarch of the veluz clan that my husband’s family knows of is MACARIO VELUZ who was born in luisiana; but settled in del gallego. i will flag this name and give you a holler if i find anything. :)

in the meantime, i encourage you to pursue the reseach into your line. you can go to a church of the latter day saints family history center nearest you and go through baptism records on microfilm. to start with, you can also refer to this http://bit.ly/gxq0WU. good luck!

Comment by Mona Magno-Veluz

Arnold veluz bijer is my cousin, his mother is anita married to remegio bijer.

Comment by maritez alfante

thanx Mona,.can you help find in your database the name of my grandfather fathers name BERNABE VELUZ maried to MARCELA BALA VELUZ..thanks a lot..

Comment by arnold

hi mona, thank you for this very interesting site! my grandmother is Juana Veluz and my mother is Minerva Vivero. I have updated my geni family data and you may send me an invite. Thank very much!

Comment by art

hi, art. you are my husband’s second cousin. i just sent you an invitation to our geni tree. :)

Comment by Mona Magno-Veluz

hi, art! my husband recalls a certain “lola anang” who made great halo-halo. was she your grandmother?

are you based in del gallego? we are planning a trip to visit relatives there later in the month. :)

Comment by Mona Magno-Veluz

“Lola Anang” is indeed my grandma. She and my mom (aka imba or embot) used to have a store in del gallego that served the halo halo and “snowball” in the 70s.

Unfortunately, we’re no longer based in del gallego since the early 80s. Mom now is based in Mandaluyong. But she still visits DG at least 2x a year.

My mom says, she still recalls 4 “goying” boys especially “monching”. She also remembers “mel”.

Thank you so much for inviting me into your geni tree, makes me feel proud of being part of the veluz clan. :)

PS
im starting to be a fan of “amingangkan.com” :). more power to you!

Comment by art

Hi Ms Mona Magno Veluz

We invite to visit our family tree in this site

http://www.myheritage.com/site-122540822/pascual-veluz

We are the Veluz clan in Luisiana, Laguna

Jorge Veluz Bitoon

Comment by Jorge Veluz Bitoon

Hi,I am jun. Are anyone who related to Juan Veluz???? Juan Veluz married to Matilde Villaverde Balais. They have 3 children. They came from Lucban,Quezon.

Comment by Beneroso Bajar Jr.




Leave a Reply

