Ang Aming Angkan


Renato Mijes Velasco
02.25.2009, 15:46
Filed under: Calleja

Renato “Remy” Mijes Velasco was born on March 25, 1925 to Juan Maronilla Velasco and Dionisia Mijes in Libon, Albay, Philippines. Influenced by his musical aunt, Josefina Maronilla Velasco-Isaac, he learned to play the guitar and accordion and was also a good singer. He was a member of the Velasco Daring Masters that performed not only in Libon but also in nearby towns and even in far provinces like Masbate and Samar. During the Japanese and American regimes, he entertained people crowds at P50 per song. In 1950, their orchestra was disbanded upon the decision of his uncle, Vicente “Pa Titing” Velasco.

Remy took as his wife, Celina Sara Vasquez, an educator. His musical heritage continues through his grandchildren, Marvin and Juan.  He passed away on 01 May 2009 in his hometown.

Family History Research Notes

1.  “Renato (Remy) Velasco“.  Municipality of Libon official site.  Date accessed:  02 August 2010.
2.  Renato Mijes Velasco’s Family Tree can be found on Geni.com.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is my grandfather

Comment by Juan

hi, juan. it would be great if you can collaborate with us on your grandparents and their descendants on http://www.geni.com. you can see the entire “familly forest” there. :)

Comment by Mona

hi juan. i just sent you an invitation to collaborate on geni.com. i have already plotted your name; but would need your help with other family details. thanks in advance!

Comment by Mona

My Grandfather who taught me how to appreciate music……

Comment by Marvin Velasco Segarra

hi, marvin. it would be great if you can collaborate with us on your grandparents and their descendants on http://www.geni.com. you can see the entire “familly forest” there. :)

Comment by Mona

hi marvin. i also sent you an invite to collaborate on the family tree on geni.com. please help fill in some of the other details. thanks!

Comment by Mona

Vicente “Pa titing” Velasco is my paternal grandfather. my father is Antonio “Bulaw” Velasco

Comment by karla muller

hi, karla. it would be great if you can collaborate with us on your grandparents and their descendants on http://www.geni.com. you can see the entire “familly forest” there. :)

Comment by Mona

hi karla. i have finally moved over the family trees that i manage onto geni.com. i have VICENTE and ANTONIO VELASCO in there; but i would need your help with the other details. i am sending you an invite to see and edit your profile and that of your family’s. please help fill in the blanks as needed. thanks!

Comment by Mona

My beloved late Uncle Remy was one of my musical inspirations.He was a giant and an icon in hi-brow (standard) music in Libon.I can still remember the way he played his big bass,strummed his guitar or played the piano (oh,his chords were really something) or sing “I Can’t Begin To Tell You” with his pleasant,deep and fairly-husky voice.I’ve been imagining how he made beautiful music with the other gentlemen and Lady Josefina Isaac before my grandfather Vicente Velasco,Jr. disbanded his orchestra in the 50’s.
I’m sure many not-so-young people of Libon experienced the grandeur in the mansionic Velasco ancestral home at the foot of the street name in honor of the Familia Velasco-the Calle Velasco.
I can imagine the Orchestra,the wine,the women and even the language.
When I was admiring and listening to my Uncle Remy,I was then a high school boy who wanted so much to mix with their group.With such a stature and personality, how could I join a group of local musical giants composed of my late Uncle himself,Mariano Maronilla,Manuel Ayana,Antonio Asanza,Alfonso Dellosa,Leocadio Sevilla,Dionisio Berma (original member of the famous Banaba Boys-as he and his group frequently stayed under the Banaba Tree at the Rizal Park at night during the 50’s),Jesus Malonda,Nery Sevilla,Vicente Liao,Rodolfo Fonacier,Antonio and Antolin Velasco,Antonio and Oscar Malonda,Francisco Serrano,Antonio and Manuel Isaac,Mariano Saret,Napoleon and Querubin Velasco and my father himself Nemesio Baclao to name some or many.
There was no time to discuss with my uncle such things as music,composers and what he did in the musical past, as after high school (LPHS Batch ’79),I spent most of my life in Manila where I entered the Aviation and Classical Music Worlds.
Yes,it’s been 30 long years.
Now, I’m ready to mix with a group such as theirs.
IT’S LATE.Time did not permit.Many among them have gone west and will never come back.My younger son himself must be singing songs with many of them somewhere up there.Misty memories are all but there.
March 1, 2009, I was in Legaspi City fresh from Bangkok where I’m practicing my Aviation Career when I recieved a text message from Libon in the middle of a 5pm Mass:Uncle Remy passed-away one hour ago.Time,really…
-A Tribute

Comment by Sammy Baclao

hi, sammy. it would be great if you can collaborate with us on your grandparents and their descendants on http://www.geni.com. you can see the entire “familly forest” there. :)

Comment by Mona




Leave a Reply

