Ang Aming Angkan


Salome Calleja
12.19.2007, 21:05
Filed under: Calleja

of Libon, Albay, Philippines

Salome Calleja is the earliest known matriarch of the clan, with an estimated birth year of 1840 . It is unknown whether she is a native of Libon, Albay; but she definitely settled there at some point in her life.

Her first child, Ignacio was sired by Fr. Gonzales Dietz of the Franciscan order. It is said that the friar so cared for Salome that he handpicked her future husband, Doroteo Serrano, when he was about to return to Spain in the late 1800’s.

She is the great-great-great-grandmother of Senator Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

SALOME LOREDO CALLEJA was the youngest of 5 children of Rev Fr. Jose Vasquez and Gertrudes Loredo.
He rother siblings were:
1.Mariano L. Calleja, 2) Maria L. Calleja, 3) Rufina L Calleja,4) Francisco L Calleja.
They were given the CALLEJA surname after theParish priest of Libon Rev Juan Calleja.
My name is LEA SAMSON CALLEJA-SUERO. I’M A DESCENDANT OF MARIANO L. CALLEJA AND MANUELA HERNANDEZ, WHOSE SON;
EUGENIO HERNANDEZ CALLEJA AND SEVERINA BAUTISTA WERE THE PARENTS OF MY FATHER, JUAN BAUTISTA CALLEJA, a Retired Teacher of Libon elem. School, and a Banker (Rural Bank of Libon founded in Sept .
1965.
JUAN BAUTISTA CALLEJAwas married to RUPERTA NUYDA SAMSON who had seven children namely:
1)Engineer, EUGENIOCELSO S. CALLEJA ,married Atty PURA FERRER of ,LIGAO
2) Dr. HIGINIA JEAN S. CALLEJA
3) CAPT. ISIDORO S. CALLEJA….toCARLOTA SANTOS of BATAAN
4) CELESTE S. CALLEJA, Social Worker……JOSE DUMALASA, Businessmanof Calabanga , Cam Sur.
5)LEAS.CALLEJA,BSN,(UST),…JESUSTRINIDADSUERO,MD,FACP,FCCP,,CRITICAL CARE AND PULMONARY AND INTERNAL MEDICINE,OWNED HIS CLINIC,WICHITA, KS. USA.
DR. SUERO IS FROM PACIANO RIZAL , CALAMBA, LAGUNA; parents ,native of CABUGAO ILOCOS SUR AND TANAUAN BATANGAS

6) SALOME S. CALLEJA (deceased at 12 yrs old)

7) SALVACION S. CALLEJA, CPA, ….TO LEVINO CEDO SEGARRA, CHEM. ENGINEER OF LIBON ALBAY AND NAGA CITY

Comment by LEA SAMSON CALLEJA SUERO

Hi Lea. This is great stuff! As I have seen the Libon civil and church registrar records in my research and found many Salome Calleja’s, I will send you a note via email separately. I was hoping to get more info to help reconcile the data I have. Thanks again!

Comment by Mona

I’m Salome Bigcas Calleja,the first born Grandchild of Juan B. Calleja and Ruperta Samson Calleja, from their first born child Eugeniuo Celso Calleja. Ruperta Samson Calleja, I call “INAY” raised me with so much love like I was her daugther. Only when she passed away I realized that I didn’t really belong. From now on I just want to be remembered as Ngek, not Salome Calleja.

Comment by Salome Bigcas Calleja

hi salome. thanks for visiting the family site! i looked at my database; but i cannot find a JUAN B CALLEJA (i have a JUAN C CALLEJA though) or a RUPERTA SAMSON or a RUPERTA CALLEJA in my expanded family forest. If you can send me the names of their parents, perhaps we can find a common link. thanks again!

Comment by Mona

hi, i’m a descendant of Paula Siguenza, the wife of Mariano Arana, who married my great grandfather after the death of M. Arana. I was wondering if you have a record what is the middle name of Paula Siguenza? Many thanks.

Comment by jovy

thanks for the visit, jovy. i have not been monitoring that last name; so unfortunately, i don’t have an answer for you. I may have found her here: http://bit.ly/jXIwEL. perhaps you can look around the clds site for what you are looking for.

Comment by Mona Magno-Veluz

Hi Mona,

I’m Karl, I have a genealogical project for the Claveria family of Buhi, Camarines Sur (http://genealogy.karlclaveria.com). I am related to Tita Daday (Lea Samson Calleja) by marriage to her niece.

I believe we were in contact several years back because of a common family connection in our family trees with Jacinto Collantes Veluz, whose daughter Pura, married Amado Taburnal – my granduncle.

Is the Salome Loredo Calleja, confirmed as the same person as Salome Calleja on this page?

Comment by Karl

Hi Karl! I have seen several Salome Calleja’s in later generations — not sure exactly of Salome Loredo Calleja. The Salome Calleja described here is the mother of Lolo Ignacio (Libon president during Aguinaldo’s revolutionary government). Her birth year should be close to 1840. Let me know if you have found data on the Salome I am looking for.

Comment by Mona




Leave a Reply

